2016 Hyundai Sonata Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2024)

Alex Showalter

Nov 10, 2021

The 2016 Hyundai Sonata is a midsize sedan with a price range of $15,021 to $22,343. It’s a great value for buyers looking for a daily driver loaded with the latest safety and entertainment technology.

2016 Hyundai Sonata Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (1)

The Good

The 2016 Sonata has a luxurious interior commonly found in more expensive cars, and a standard touchscreen infotainment system. Engine reliability is better than earlier years, with fewer complaints.

The Bad

Other midsize sedans have better fuel economy, handling feels disconnected from the road, and loading cargo in and out of the trunk is difficult with the new design.

2016 Hyundai Sonata: Quick Overview

  • New features for the 2016 model year include a standard seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Android Auto & Apple CarPlay, and emergency brake assistance.
  • Reliability ratings are above average according to J.D. Power, with fewer complaints than earlier model years.
  • Three engines are available. An efficient engine is available in the Eco model, and the 2.0T offers the best performance.
  • Fuel economy is average in the Sonata, placing it 5th out of 12 midsize cars. It gets a combined rating of up to 26 miles per gallon.
  • Safety ratings are above average, getting a five-star rating in government crash tests. It also earns the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety’s highest award of Top Safety Pick+
  • The 2016 Sonata ranks near the middle of its class. It offers a lot of technology and luxury for its price, but doesn’t have the same brand recognition and reputation found with Toyota or Honda. It’s a good choice for shoppers looking for an affordable midsize car. Check out this video test drive of the Sonata by CarGurus.

Expert Ratings

KBB

4.5/5

U.S. News

8.3 /10

Positive Owner Reviews

Gabrielle D

Safe vehicle that is underpriced.

This is a safe, secure car that has many features which make driving pleasurable: lane assist, cruise control, and cellular phone hookup. Maintenance is routine and I have not encountered any outstanding problems requiring a large mechanic's bill. This purchase was a wise decision.

David W

Gas mileage, safety features.

My sonata in a great car, has good gas mileage has a hands free phone and gets wet from point a to point b quite well.

Daniela S

Owning a Hyundai sonata perks.

The Hyundai sonata is a very reliable car. Maintenance wise it is a great car, I hardly have any problems and if I do the expense to fix it is very minimal. The sonata is a great car to drive long distances, gas lasts a long time and is very inexpensive.

Calli B

It has so many compartments to put my phone, change, phone chargers.

I love the shape and style of my car, the buckets seats that big bad seat area and the nice touch screen radio. My biggest problem is that my car has a oil consumption problem and apparently most sonatas and Santa Fe vehicles have that problem, I literally have to refill my oil every 9 days. It definitely scares me that my motor is going to mess up.

Theresa K

Sporty and with a sunroof!

I bought it used in the summer of 2018 and have had a fun time driving it. I do drive it primarily to work and back again. I love how it handles. We have taken it on a long road trip to Vegas and that was comfortable for all of us. Plus we had plenty of room for all our luggage plus a cooler and snacks. It gets great gas mileage so we got there on one tank of gas. It has some great safety features including turn indicators on the side mirrors along with all the basic standard ones. My favorite feature is the sunroof. A great accessory in Southern California! We have had to do basic oil changes on it. But had to recently have the brakes done. We had on older model sonata before and really liked that one- we had it about 10 years. This is the sport model and is more fun to drive. It does have seat warmers which is great during the winter. And it both heats and cools the car efficiently. I will also say that trunk space is quite large.

Lauren D

It drives very well. I have not had any mechanical issues so far.

I love the look of my car (white with black top and tinted windows). It is roomy on the inside and drives very well. I like the dashboard/screen. I wish my interior was a darker color.

Matt L

Reliable car for a great value.

The car is great. Some of the interior trim along the seat has broken but other than that I have had no major repairs on the vehicle. The car handles great and gets good mileage. The warranty cannot be beat. Definitely a worthwhile buy from Hyundai.

Abigail S

My Hyundai Sonata experience.

My car performs great. I have had little issues. The car did shut off once on its own as I was driving but that is the only issue. It is super comfortable and I love driving it. I do not like the cloth seats. They stain very easily so I got seat covers. I have the white one and it is gorgeous. I would highly suggest this car. It is good on gas and efficient. I am a college student so that is important to me.

Negative Owner Reviews

Assumpta Sandrasagra

Sales

I bought brand new Sonata in 2016. First year itself have problems. They changed transmission in first year it took 6 months to get the parts. Every year dealership changing transmission. I changed three times. Transmission. Then you can look how crappie car I have. I didn’t enjoy my car from First year to now. I paid 42.000 in my car. Not even worth like penny. I was disappointed your service people and sales people. They were cheated the vechile for the customer. After Four years they asked me look for vehicle. They didn’t tell first year, now I have 5 months to go ask me to trade vehicle. I already lost 40.000. Again if I trade it I am to pay same price for 60months. You already give me the crappy car. Now how I believe the car also give same problem. If you give free carI will take it. How can I trust Hyundai again. How can I explain other people about the Hyundai. I do all the maintenance with you. I wasted all my money for garbage car. I am very disappointed. You are saying best customer service. You don’t have. If you have good customer service you would have ask me to trade the vehicle in first year.

Virginia M

Never again will I buy this car.

There’s a class action lawsuit. It drinks oil. I have to put oil in my car every 3 weeks. After a year of owning the car. We had to replace the battery. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Or any Hyundai to anyone specifically because of the oil issue.

Noel B

Like how the car makes music when you open the door.

The car isn't that bad but based on having it for a year this is my opinion. There are tons of blind spots when I am trying to look to my left or right before turning- I have to adjust my head to see out of the window to get a clear view. Otherwise, the car is blinding me from seeing. There is a recall on the engine. My oil does not stay in vehicle. Car does not excel that quickly.

John smith

Structural problems welds breaking..

Beware unsafe car. At five months old I heard a metal crunching noise In the roof on the driver's side. Took the car to the dealer they said the spotweld in the a pillar broke and they had to weld it back together. I asked the mgn if they had that happen before he said no. I told him that did not sound safe. Nine months later it happened again this time three more welds broke at the windshield. Now I am worried about the safety of the car in case of an accident. After talking to multiple body shops they all said they have never heard of welds breaking in a new car, only if it was in a wreck. I am sure my car was not the only one that came off the assembly line that day so be aware there may be other cars out there with bad welds. Hyudai refused to take the car back. I guess they dont care about safety.

Shirley Feducia

Fredericksburg, Va. 22407

Until December 2020, my 2016 Sonata Hyundai, bought new, has been fine. A couple weeks ago, I stopped at a stop sign, upon entering main road, the steering wheel would not turn. It felt as if the power steering was gone. I put care in reverse to keep from hitting ditch. When I cut the car off and re-started, the steering wheel was fine. The next stop light, while trying to cross 4 traffic lanes, the wheel would not turn. Again, felt as if there was no power steering. I went to Hyundai dearler service dept and left car. I was told a sensor had to be replaced but is fine now. On Dec 21, 2020, this situation happened again. Steering wheel would not turn. I decided to wait til after Christmas to return to service dept. I researched recalls. When I phoned Hyundai customer service, the lady was not interested in what I had to say. Our call was terminated. In 2004 I bought a new Sonata and had no problems for 16 years! This year the 2004 Sonata died. As of now, I do not know what is wrong with my 2016 Sonata and Hyundai isn't interested in finding out.

Ashley R

Review of 2016 Hyundai sonata.

The quality of the parts used to assemble Hyundai vehicles is very cheap. The paint started chipping off the top of my vehicle and is not covered by Hyundai. They only cover vehicles that have cosmetic damages that are below 30,000 miles. I also need a new engine around 80,000 miles which was covered by Hyundai. The vehicle said I needed an oil change but that was not the case and I needed a new engine.

Brittany G

Sonata: mid size or full size?

The sonata gets pretty good gas mileage and has all of the essential options (Bluetooth, USB). It is super spacious and the seats are pretty comfortable. The cons are the blurry backup camera, cheap finishes, and it is not the most reliable compared to cars we've owned in the past.

Chris W

The luxury sonata for half the price of a BMW.

I have not found any problems with this vehicle. The interior is relatively fair, nothing too special. The touch screen is nice and the two tone black and white contrast is appealing. The power delivery is enough for a daily driver but I wish that I had purchased the turbo version of the sonata. I also wish that the sonata would come with AWD not just front wheel drive, that way it would be better in the snow. The cabin and trunk is very spacious and the sound system is decent. It is a very well put together car and I would highly recommend. The body lines are sleek and form a luxury car feel. I wish that it had fog lamps rather than just the drl strips. I had to put aftermarket led headlights in because the halogens we not every good. The miles per gallon are decent for a mid sized sedan and the range is incredible. I do enjoy this car very much so and would highly recommend.

What Problems Does the 2016 Hyundai Sonata Have?

The 2016 Hyundai Sonata has fewer problems than models from 2015 and earlier. However, while it’s better than previous years, some of the problems are more severe than its competitors.

Engine problems still exist in the Sonata. Owners say the engine stalls or dies while driving. It can be anything from an intake manifold problem, to a complete engine failure.

Transmission shuddering while accelerating is another problem mentioned. Owners report it happens when the vehicle slips into neutral while stopped, and hesitates to get into gear while accelerating.

Cracked dashboards are noted as well, but are rare compared to other problems. It’s commonly reported in hotter climates where the dash expands in direct sunlight.

There are six recalls affecting the 2016 Sonata, more than average for a car its age. Recalls include the ABS warning lamp, airbags, sunroof, parking brake indicator, and turn signal activating in the wrong direction. Most serious are airbag recalls since they can increase the risk of injury in the event of an accident.

What are the Prices, Models & Specs?

The 2016 Hyundai Sonata boasts six unique trim levels with several optional add-on packages. The 2016 Hyundai Sonata is more affordable than other midsize cars, with a price range of $15,021 to $22,343 depending on the mileage and model. When new, it had a retail price of $21,300 to $38,600. Depreciation is faster than average, losing 57% of its value in the first five years.

  • SE is the base-level model with cloth seating, a seven-inch touchscreen display, Bluetooth, automatic headlights, a rearview camera, and Android Auto & Apple CarPlay.
  • Eco is a more efficient model featuring a smaller engine, and a 4.2-inch information display in the dash.
  • Sport focuses on driving dynamics with improved suspension, LED running lights, and an 8-way power driver’s seat.
  • Limited is the luxurious flagship model with heated leather seating including heated rear seats, and LED tail lights.
  • Both the Sport and Limited models are also available with a more powerful engine 2.0L Turbocharged engine.

2.4L

185 HP 30 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

2.4L SE

185 HP 30 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

1.6T Eco

178 HP 32 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

2.4L Limited

185 HP 30 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

2.0T Sport

245 HP 26 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

2.0T Limited

245 HP 26 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

How Long Will the 2016 Hyundai Sonata Last?

A properly maintained 2016 Hyundai Sonata will be able to reach 200,000 miles, average for a midsize car. Maintenance costs are more affordable than other cars as well. Repair Pal estimates them to be around $380 per year.

Stacey E

As of now, it is reliable for me. I have had problems with tire pressure getting low on some tires, which is normal during the winter.

Ginger H

No, I only took it to the shop for an oil change. And flat tires I never have major issues or to expend 10000 in repairs.

Renee P

I've had it for 3 years and I had to replace the axle buts thats it so yeah it's reliable I take a lot of trips in this wonderful car.

Candace T

Not at all it is very reliable it gets me where I am going and tells me when something is wrong with it.

Diamela M

None whatsoever. I have driven to Atlanta from the Bronx NY and the car handled the drive with no problems.

Samantha K

Many issues, the motor has completely blown up before. Any pair of tires we put on the car it roars even going as little as 20 mph. It also is very hard to see any cars surrounding you even when using the mirrors.

Denisse G

The oil change, steering wheel and motor has some issues but nothing that cannot be solved. Another thing is the wipers are special and cannot be found.

A B

Actually, this vehicle is enough reliable if you can drive safety. But individual components are sufficient.

What Technology & Safety Features are Included?

Base technology in the 2016 Sonata is very good for a midsize car at its price point, with more than its competitors.

  • Standard technology includes a seven-inch infotainment screen with Android Auto, Apple CarPlay, and Bluetooth.
  • Technology upgrades include a larger eight-inch screen with navigation, satellite radio, an improved Infinity surround sound stereo system, and a 4.2” driver information display.
  • For safety, there’s a standard backup camera, seven airbags, and traction & stability control systems. Optional upgrades include blind-spot detection, rear traffic alert, and automatic emergency braking.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2)

What Engine Options are Available?

Performance is average for a midsize car in the 2016 Sonata. With the upgraded engine it goes from 0 to 60 in 7.2 seconds.

  • The base engine is a 2.4L four-cylinder with 185 horsepower.
  • An upgraded 2.0L turbocharged four-cylinder engine has 245 horsepower.
  • The most fuel-efficient option found in the Eco model is a 1.6L four-cylinder turbo with 178 horsepower.

What Colors Options are Available?

How Big is the Sonata?

The 2016 Hyundai Sonata is a midsize sedan similar in size to other cars in its class. Interior materials are good for its class and price point. There’s plenty of legroom in the rear seats for adults as well. It also has more cargo space than other midsize cars, with 16.3 cu. ft. of room in the trunk. It’s more than enough room for four full-size suitcases.

2016 Hyundai Sonata Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (3)

How Does the 2016 Hyundai Sonata Compare to Other Cars?

Owners rank the 2016 Hyundai Sonata 6th out of 12 midsize cars, putting it near the middle of its class. At the top of the lineup is the Honda Accord, which has better reliability ratings, performance, and is more fuel-efficient. Where the Sonata wins out is with better technology, more standard safety features, a lower starting price, and a more luxurious interior. Ultimately, the two cars are very close to each other and it comes down to personal preference since both are good choices.

Another rival is the Subaru Legacy. Long-term reliability and pricing are similar between the two cars. The Subaru wins with more passenger room and standard all-wheel-drive, which is better for cold climates. The Sonata, on the other hand, has more technology than the Subaru, and feels more luxurious and comfortable to drive. If you need all-wheel-drive then the Subaru is a better choice, but if you don’t then the Sonata gives you more for your money.

Ranks #6 Midsize Cars by Owners

1

2016 Honda Accord

4.6

2

2016 Subaru Legacy

4.58

6

2016 Hyundai Sonata

4.48

Final Verdict: Is the 2016 Hyundai Sonata a Good Car?

Based on 741 owner reviews and our research from 14 automotive and government sites, we conclude, yes, the 2016 Sonata is a good car. It has the technology and luxury features you would expect to find in a much more expensive car. It falls short with some engine problems, and it’s not as sporty as its competitors. Overall, if you need a midsize sedan, the Sonata is a good choice.

Owner Reviews

messageEdit Write a Review

Ian on September 20, 2022

The Radio Unit /Screen Unit is poor

I purchased my Sonata in 2016. Within 6 months the Car Radio & Screen Unit stopped working and I had to get it replaced by Hyundai. Three years later the same thing happened and I ended up having to get the whole unit replaced again by Hyundai. I have in the last 4 weeks had the Car radio / Screen unit break down yet again. This has resulted in the loss of the cars radio, loss of a reversing camera, maps and GPS and loss of hands free phone calls. I have contacted Hyundai for a replacement unit yet again as I believe there must be a fault in the electrics or in the radio unit. Hyundai have now said that the car is out of warranty and it is not their problem and that I have to pay for the replacement unit. However I have said that this equates to three radio / screen units I have had broken in 6 years. Hence the average life cycle of my Hyundai radio unit / screen unit has been 2 years from having a new car. There is obviously a fault somewhere in the system I have investigated and there is no after market units available from 3rd Party car accessory companies in Aussie. Hence I have to go back to Hyundai and pay $900 to buy a unit and then pay extra to get it installed by someone (or else I pay Hyundai). I would note that none of my friends who have Toyotas, Fords etc have had to replace their Radio/Screen Units and some of them have had their cars for over 8 years.

Ron on January 18, 2024

ONLY. 114,700

My SONATA LEMON IS JUST THAT. I have 50 lbs of compression in 3rd cylinder and just runs like LEMON AIDE WOULD slow and lack of power trying todrive up hill 2.4 ltr. LEMON. DONT BUY

Alexis S on June 25, 2021

It is grey and amazing. I love it.

It is very reliable. And I love it. There is so much great things for this car. It jeff’s up to speed quickly, and I love it. There isn't anything that I would trade this car for. I love it so much it is very safe. I have a 2 year old and I feel super safe with this car.

madison H on June 24, 2021

Sonata review: great family car up to date on technology great on gas.

My car is very good on gas 20 dollars goes a long way it's very comfortable and easy to manage the interior is great and easy to clean especially if you have animals or kids it keeps you up to date on miles, tire pressure and gas. Very easy handling and a great family car or for business travel.

Bethany L on June 22, 2021

Great mileage, great car!

Super reliable, it has a crazy big gas tank for up to 500 miles to a tank. Remote start options, it has push start and is really reliable. I do not like that it is kind of slow to get up and go. I never have to use my key at all which is useful for me when my hands are full.

Bob D on June 22, 2021

2016 Hyundai sonata review.

I really like my car because it has a lot of great features. It is very comfortable to drive. It has a great comfortable interior with a full size sunroof. The seats are heated for the front and back passengers as well as air conditioning seats in the front. I very much love having the heated steering wheel. That certainly helps during the winter months.

Zaria F on June 20, 2021

Safe comfortable smooth ride and excellent on gas mileage.

My vehicle is a great starter car for anyone its very comfortable more room in than most sudans , easy to drive the features are really nice. The only problem setting up the blue star navigation system especially. When you do not get it from a hyundai dealer.

Avery W on June 19, 2021

She goes into sport mode and can be manually used or put into stick mode.

My oil tends to burn out extremely fast. For some reason I wasn't due for another oil change for 5,000 more miles and I had no oil in my car. Aside from the fact I run low on oil I love my car. Her performance rates are outstanding and I have never paid over $35 on gas.

Eleanor A on June 16, 2021

Hyundai 2016 sonata review.

I love my car, 1st time I did not buy a u.S. Brand, perhaps I like it because it is my first car with driver assist options and it easy to park (it is smaller in design than my previous models) just love it, it is look and the ride. This car is very comfortable, easy to drive, performs well in quick start.

Abigael F on June 15, 2021

One thing I love about my vehicle is the backup camera.

Hyundai is by far the best manufacturer I have ever dealt with. Not only myself, but my family included, has owned Hyundai vehicles for years. This is a very reliable vehicle. There are times that something is recalled but that happens with most vehicles. When taken in and replaced the car works like new again. I would definitely recommend to anyone questioning whether or not to buy Hyundai to do it. If I were to buy another vehicle anytime soon it would definitely be a Hyundai.

De W on June 15, 2021

Ups and downs of a Hyundai sonata.

Engine problems burning oil a lot in a short period of time, vehicle also has fuse issues which causes headlights to burn out and blow bulbs very often. Extra features on the vehicle are nice it a good mid sized car and very good on gas as well as rides very smooth and handles well in the snow.

Austin P on June 13, 2021

The beauty of a 2016 Hyundai sonata.

The vehicle drives great and accelerates at a manageable speed. The handling is superb not to mention it is extremely spacious and can fit me (a 6’2 guy) comfortably in the driver seat. The seats are extremely comfy and help for long car drives. The trunk is spacious for any shopping there is to do it can fit it all! The gas mileage is extremely good. The audio system is extremely nice on top of it all.

Heather G on June 12, 2021

Sporty feeling sedan with all the features.

I love my Hyundai sonata. It has a panoramic sunroof that is so nice for the kids sitting in back. I have heated and cooling seats which is perfect for all seasons. It runs smooth and is very reliable. The seats are leather and super comfortable. You can have up to two seat preference settings which is nice for when my husband drives and he can quickly have the seat changed to his setting for his height. There is a SD card for the navigation that does have to be updated as some of the maps are outdated. Overall I feel extremely safe driving my family and myself around and it is great on mileage.

Caroline T on June 9, 2021

I cannot even pick a single thing to highlight I love everything about my car.

I absolutely love my car, his name is Hamilton btw. The look of the car is so beautiful and sleek, the interior is a mix of black and tan which I love, and everything about it is just perfect for me. Driving my car is so easy, and all of the functions work without a problem. Overall, I 10/10 recommend a Hyundai sonata to literally everyone!

Mackenzie D on June 8, 2021

Metal flake gray, nice and bright headlights, Bluetooth, touch screen radio.

Although I do love my car, it has had it problems at times like any other car. I have noticed that I have to change and add oil frequently and that it might have a problem burning the oil. Also, I have noticed that when I turn the car on and it sits for a couple minutes it tends to sound like a diesel. Those are really the only two things that bother me about the car, other than that it is a really great car.

Victoria C on June 6, 2021

Great look and feel for reasonable price. Feel fancy on a reasonable wallet.

I love the moderate luxury look for a great price but I do not like that of the antenna cover comes off the car but the posts are intact and work you have to replace the whole unit for their time the cost of the cover. Hyundai does make reliable vehicles. I have had two before and this my third.

Jacon A on June 2, 2021

Hyundai sonata, reliable as they come.

It runs great. Plenty of legroom in the front and back. Large trunk. Haven't had any problems so far. Not great when it comes to acceleration. Wi-Fi capabilities. Cruise control. Great gas mileage. Handles decent in inclement weather. Hands free phone answering.

Ashley R on June 2, 2021

Review of 2016 Hyundai sonata.

The quality of the parts used to assemble Hyundai vehicles is very cheap. The paint started chipping off the top of my vehicle and is not covered by Hyundai. They only cover vehicles that have cosmetic damages that are below 30,000 miles. I also need a new engine around 80,000 miles which was covered by Hyundai. The vehicle said I needed an oil change but that was not the case and I needed a new engine.

Marie T on May 30, 2021

Best car ever!! Will take you down the highway so smooth you will not regret it.

This car is the best car I have driven in a long time. She has a lot of horsepower up under that hood. The gas pedal is very touchy. This car has so much horse power that it will reach 100 in 2.2 seconds. It is truly my baby... Love this car so much!! I am going to tell you.. Get your ride and see what I am talking about. You will be riding right,,

Toya B on May 24, 2021

Dashboard screen went out.

The dashboard screen went out within the 1st two years of me owning the car and it was only a few miles outside of the manufacturing warranty and the dealership would not fix it. Other than that I have had no issues or problems with the car. It is reliable and I love it... I just cannot use the dashboard features, like voice call, I cannot play CD's, tune my clock, use the touch screen or anything. The screen does work with the rearview camera when I back up though.

Dave R on May 22, 2021

Review of 2016 Hyundai sonata.

The vehicle has great acceleration and control on the road. I love having the ability to switch between eco regular and sport mode. No problem driving in snow or through mountains even without 4 wheel drive. I would recommend this vehicle as it is a great car and it is s a reasonable price.

Alexander R on May 14, 2021

Reliable, cost efficient, spacious, modern, comfortable, and affordable.

I have no problems with my vehicle at all, and it is an extremely reliable car with decent performance for a car if it is class. Not to mention extremely efficient. It features what you might expect from a 2016 vehicle like; Bluetooth, navigation, blind spot detector, apps that are compatible with your smartphone, I.E (apple, android), and many other modern features. It is also spacious and roomy for a sedan as well, and I have my seat situated all the way back! (electric seats). All in all a very reliable, comfortable, and efficient vehicle, would definitely recommend.

Calli B on May 9, 2021

It has so many compartments to put my phone, change, phone chargers.

I love the shape and style of my car, the buckets seats that big bad seat area and the nice touch screen radio. My biggest problem is that my car has a oil consumption problem and apparently most sonatas and Santa Fe vehicles have that problem, I literally have to refill my oil every 9 days. It definitely scares me that my motor is going to mess up.

Arianna M on May 7, 2021

Amazing sonata worth the purchase.

It is amazing, good on gas, display for maps and alone carplay. The body style is amazing and sleek. The feel of a sports car but obviously a lot cheaper. Full tank is about 400+ miles of gas. Interior is beautiful, spacious. Trunk is also spacious, can fit a lot.

Marjori B on May 1, 2021

Chromes lining in the outside, handle door lights up, sun roof, 5 seater.

The car has 4 option for gear, regular automatic, stick shift 1-6 gear, sports and eco. I love the car when you are riding uphill you can switch to sports mode and it goes pretty fast and it controls you steering wheel so you will not slide. Gas last up to 5 days and you can drive 500 miles for a fill tank.

Jaime W on April 28, 2021

Classy comfortable reliable.

I have had this car over 4 years without any major issues! I regularly get my oil changes and take care of my car. I drive long distances for work and have gone through many terrains. This car has been fabulous throughout! The only issue I have had so far was the Bluetooth fin on the top of the car flew off during a car wash. When I brought it in to Hyundai they had never seen this happen before at that location and were shocked! They replaced it once the piece came in without a problem. This car is classy, comfortable, and reliable. I highly recommend.

Brittany G on April 24, 2021

Sonata: mid size or full size?

The sonata gets pretty good gas mileage and has all of the essential options (Bluetooth, USB). It is super spacious and the seats are pretty comfortable. The cons are the blurry backup camera, cheap finishes, and it is not the most reliable compared to cars we've owned in the past.

Kaley G on April 15, 2021

It can be driven in three different modes: normal, eco, and sport.

I absolutely love my car. I love all the safety features as well as the comfort features. If I could add anything it would be heated seats. I have had no problems with my vehicle. My favorite feature is the digital speedometer, which makes it easier to set the cruise control and see my speed.

Douglas W on April 2, 2021

The perfect car! Fantastic and dependable!

The only problem I have with this vehicle is one dead battery over the five years I have owned it. The other issue is the power seat controls on the side of the driver side seat. It will be broke and the whole assembly how long dangle down the floor. The warranty wouldn’t cover it since it was a trim item and it just cost me 130 bucks to have it replaced and installed. Other than that this is been a fantastic car and his wife heard Hyundai purchase.

Jennifer B on March 31, 2021

Love all the options that were available for my vehicle. Smooth drive and reliable.

Very reliable and safe. Smooth ride. Great options like heated leather seats.

Doug Z on March 31, 2021

The car rides incredibly smoothly. Substantially smoother than any other car that I have owned.

I love everything about it. Incredibly smooth ride for the cost. Good on gas. Comfortable. Relatively noiseless

Greg J on March 29, 2021

The duke economy, the mileage, how it handles, the style, the size.

I like the gas mileage a lot it has great gas mileage and it drives smooth the only thing I do not like is it uses synthetic oil and my oil changes are a lot more expensive.

Catherine P on March 28, 2021

About the same as me. The seat belt always gets complaints.

Drives good and I get good gas mileage.. The main thing I do not like is the seat belt chokes me. I have to hold the belt at all times to be comfortable..

billy r on March 27, 2021

Handiya is a good company. The warranty is excellent

Good engine and great gas mileage. Also a good warranty.

tyler d on March 27, 2021

The car is very good on gas and is very reliable I have never had any problems with it.

No problems at all. The car is great on gas and is very smooth when driving. The car is very luxurious and spacious.

Trevor S on March 25, 2021

It is a good car. I would recommend it to people as long as they realize they are getting a good reliable car with great gas mileage.

I like that it has a lot of features. It also has superb gas mileage. Unfortunately, I give up a lot of power with a 4-cylinder

Lindsay N on March 24, 2021

Pretty good car for the price.

Only problem is alternator, I bought at 30k never had another issue and my mileage is at 123k. Other than that never had any real problems with the car at all. I would say I am pretty satisfied with the type of car I have. I can say I would purchase this model in the future.

Sabrina N on March 22, 2021

Side and back doors automatically close.

Good quality. Excellent gas mileage. Rides smooth and very good for long distance. Very comfortable too!.

Eric Y on March 21, 2021

The leather seats are nice

It is very comfortable and I will have to check out the new one. I will be at the office in the morning

Seraj A on March 20, 2021

Hyundai sonata is a good car.

It's a good car with good mileage, it's a smooth driver. Wish it had leather seats. Interior is good, t gets good gas mileage and has an upscale interior with two rows of roomy, comfortable seats. Trunk space is decent for the class, and there are plenty of standard features, including an easy-to-use infotainment system.

Emily V on March 20, 2021

2016 Hyundai sonata limited is my favorite car ever!

I love everything about the interior of my car from the color scheme to the placement of the radio. It has the best features that I have never had in a car before which makes it feel very luxurious. I haven't had any problems with the engine, wheels, brakes, etc. It is a very reliable and fun car.

Vonetta H on March 19, 2021

Sonata 2016: the car is great for small families.

The car is great. It is good on gas and has three different drive performance levels. The screen for the radio is a bit small. The car has two places to charge your phone. The middle compartment safe is a nice size. The seats has a good recline and a comfortable.

Brent S on March 19, 2021

That it is very comfortable.

Very reliable vehicle that I trust and can get you from point A to B. It is the best vehicle I have used.

Michaela B on March 16, 2021

Great car. My vehicle is a great car. That is all I got for a summary.

My car is great to me because it's a good car, and I haven't had to get an oil change in a while. I think I might need an upgrade because I want my car to have seat warmers, because the one I have does not. But it's okay because I like my car the way it is.

Ryan O on March 15, 2021

Luxurious and comfortable.

It's incredibly reliable and comfortable. It has heated seats and power windows. I feel comfortable leaving it unattended with the stock security system. Also the moon roof is nice. I have had it for almost 2 years with no problems. The electronic monitoring system for tire pressure and oil changes puts my mind at ease. It's also versatile good on gas, plus it has a normal, sport, and eco mode.

Derek N on March 14, 2021

Hyundai sonata se. As basic as it gets.

My vehicle is the definition of basic. It is a reliable daily driver that does everything I need. Perfect for living in a city and parking on the street. The drive is comfortable enough but not exciting. No features to speak of in the car it is as standard as it gets.

Gavin K on March 12, 2021

That it's a good car and everyone should have sonata's. Everyone

I like the rear view camera and the display system

morgan H on March 9, 2021

I like the touch screen feature and the back up camera.

This is a very reliable car. I have taken many long road trips in the car and have had little to no issues out of it. Has great gas mileage. Very spacious trunk and backseat. My favorite feature is the touch screen and backup camera. Great for a family car, very dependable and safe.

Dawn B on March 7, 2021

Reliable and durable family vehicle.

I purchased my vehicle used but it was in pristine condition. It has continued to perform well. It has plenty of space for 5 passengers when needed. The trunk is extremely spacious and I have never worried about not being able to fit something in there. I currently have around 92,000 miles and the engine has started to experience some trouble. They should be minor fixes though. The interior has held up well through 3 children. The upholstery is intact and has no signs of wear, as well as the dash and steering wheel. All in all, the car has met all expectations and performed to my satisfaction.

Jesse B on March 7, 2021

I have an awesome Hyundai Sonata Hybrid.

I love my car. It's a four-door hybrid. It gets really good gas mileage. It has blue leather seats, and blue accents.

Ashley L on March 6, 2021

Best car I have ever owned!

Very reliable, great on gas, the seats are comfortable and easily adjustable. I have not had any issues with this car at all. The ride is smooth and the rear camera is extremely helpful. It is a great vehicle for me and my family! I would definitely continue to purchase new models of this car. I love my sonata.

Derick J on March 6, 2021

My observations of a 2016 sonata.

Rough ride on long distance trips. Seats are not flexible enough for larger passengers. Tire life on the cars is not really good. The seats should come stain resistant. Windows fog up easily and takes long time to defog in varying weather conditions. That is all I have to say.

Alex Showalter

Alex is an automotive enthusiast with over 15 years of experience in the used car market. He brings a wealth of knowledge to Vehicle History as our Staff Writer and has written hundreds of used car reviews helping buyers make informed purchasing decisions. He is a member of the Automotive Press Association, and keeps up-to-date on the latest changes in the industry. Over the years, he has driven hundreds of cars, working on many of them. His mechanical experience evolved from modifying off-road trucks as a teen to focusing on automotive electrical systems as he got older. He now specializes in reviewing used cars as an automotive journalist. Some of his favorite brands are Toyota and BMW. The Toyota Land Cruiser is one of his favorite vehicles of all time since they’re built to last forever and can go anywhere. One of his current cars is a Lexus LX570, built on the same platform as the 200-series Land Cruiser, but it’s a better value in the used market.

    2016 Hyundai Sonata Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2024)

    References

    Top Articles
    Latest Posts
    Article information

    Author: Golda Nolan II

    Last Updated:

    Views: 6476

    Rating: 4.8 / 5 (78 voted)

    Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: Golda Nolan II

    Birthday: 1998-05-14

    Address: Suite 369 9754 Roberts Pines, West Benitaburgh, NM 69180-7958

    Phone: +522993866487

    Job: Sales Executive

    Hobby: Worldbuilding, Shopping, Quilting, Cooking, Homebrewing, Leather crafting, Pet

    Introduction: My name is Golda Nolan II, I am a thoughtful, clever, cute, jolly, brave, powerful, splendid person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.